My one secret trick to 5:2 fasting and regular running…

So a short while back (erm, January 2015) I promised an update on fasting. This post isn’t it. Instead I want to share my retrospectively obvious tip for consistently doing both each week: Do them on the same days. If I run, I fast. If I fast, I run.

On the face of it, this sounds dumb. If I’m hungry surely the last thing I want to do is go running. And if I go running it will just make me hungrier. Except it doesn’t. Running distracts me from my hunger. And I’m not hungry afterwards. Plus Zombie, Run! shows I run just as fast.

Why does it work? I don’t know. Would it work for anyone else? No idea? And there additional health benefits by doing both on the same day? Or less? I don’t know. But I do know that this is a marginal detail, swamped by the fact I now do both more often. I’m a happy, hungry runner.

2 thoughts on “My one secret trick to 5:2 fasting and regular running…

What do you think?

